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475 Cards in this Set
- Front
- Back
- 3rd side (hint)
Abort |
When a web server does not successfully transfer a unit of content or add to a browser. This is usually caused by a user hitting the bottom button or clicking on another link prior to the completion of a download. |
None |
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Abandonment |
When a user leaves a shopping cart with something in it prior to completing the transaction. |
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Activity audit |
Independent verification of measured activity for a specified time period. Some of the key metrics validated are ad impressions, page impressions, clicks, total visits and unique users. And activity audit results in a report verifying the metrics. Formally known account audit. |
None |
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Ad/advertisement |
The commercial message targeted to and advertisers customer or prospect. |
No |
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Ad banner |
A graphic image or other media object used as an advertisement. See IAB voluntary guidelines for banner ads. |
No |
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Ad Blocker |
Software on a users browser which prevents advertisements from being displayed. |
No |
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Ad campaign audit |
An activity audit for a specific ad campaign |
No |
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Ad centric measurement |
Audience measurement derived from a third party ad servers own server logs |
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Ad display/ad delivered |
When an ad is successfully displayed on the users computer screen |
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Ad download |
When an ad is downloaded by the server to a users browser. Ads can be requested, but aborted or abandoned before actually being downloaded to the browser, and hence there would be no opportunity to see the ad by the user |
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Address |
A unique identifier for a computer or site online, usually a URL for a website or marked with an @ for an email address. Literally, it is how one computer finds the location of another computer using the Internet |
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Ad impression |
1) An ad which is served to a users browser. Ads can be requested by the users browser (referred to as pulled ads )or they can be pushed, such as email ads. 2) A measurement of response from an ad delivery system to an ad request from the users browser, which is filtered from robotic activity and is recorded at a point as late as possible in the process of delivery of the creative material to the users browser--therefore closest to the actual opportunity to see by the user. Two methods are used to deliver ad content to the user A) server initiated B) client initiated Server initiated ad counting uses the publishers Web content server for making requests, formatting and re-editing content. Client initiated ad counting relies on the user's browser to perform these activities. For organizations that use a server -initiated ad counting method, counting should occur subsequent to the ads response at either the publishers ad server or the Web content server. For organizations using a client -initiated add counting method, counting should occur at the publishers ad server or third-party ad server, subsequent to the ad request, or later, in the process. See IaB.net for ad campaign measurement guidelines. |
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Ad impression ratio |
Click -through's divided by Ad impressions. see click rate. |
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Ad insertion |
When an ad is inserted in a document and recorded by the ad server |
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Ad materials |
The creative artwork, copy, active URLs and active target sites which are due to the seller prior to the initiation of the ad campaign |
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Ad network |
An aggregator or broker of advertising inventory for many sites. Ad networks are the sales representatives for the Web sites within the network |
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Ad request |
The request for an advertisement as a Direct result of our users action as recorded by the ad server. Ad requests can come directly from the user's browser or from an intermediate Internet resources, such as a web content server. |
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Ad recall |
A measure of advertising effectiveness in which a sample of respondents is exposed to an ad and then at a later point in time is ask if they remember the ad. Ad recall can be on and aided or unaided basis. Aided recall is when the respondent is told the name of the brand or category being advertised. |
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Ad serving |
The delivery of ads by your server to an end user's computer on which the ads are then displayed by a browser and/or cached. Ad serving is normally performed either by a web publisher or by a third ad server. Ads can be embedded in the page or served separately |
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Ad space |
The location on a page of the site in which an advertisement can be placed. Each space on the site is uniquely identified. Multiple add spaces can exist on a single page |
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Ad Stream |
The series of ads displayed by the user during a single visit to a site (also impression stream.) |
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Ad transfers |
The successful display of an advertiser's website after the user clicked on an ad. When a user clicks on an advertisement, a click through is recorded and redirects or transfers the users browser to an advertiser's website. If the user successfully displays the advertisers website and ad transfer is recorded. |
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Ad view |
When the ad is actually seen by the user. Note this is not measurable today. The best approximation today is provided by ad displays. |
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Advertiser |
The company paying for the advertisement |
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Affiliate marketing |
An agreement between two sites in which one site (the affiliate ) agrees to feature content or an ad designed to drive traffic to another site. In return, the affiliate receives a percentage of sales or some other form of compensation generated by that traffic. |
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Alternate text |
A word or phrase that is displayed when a user has image loading disabled in their browser or when a user abandons the page by hitting stop in their browser prior to the transfer of all images. Also appears as balloon text when a user lets their mouse rest over an image |
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ANA - Association of National Advertisers |
The Association of national advertisers leads the Marketing community by providing its members insights, collaboration and advocacy. The ANA strives to promote and protect all advertisers and marketers, see ANA.net for more information. |
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Animated Gif |
And animation created by combining multiple GIF images in one file. The result is multiple images, displayed sequentially, giving the appearance of movement. |
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Anonymizer |
An intermediary which prevents websites from seeing a users Internet protocol which is IP address |
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Applet |
A small, self-contained software application that is most often used by browsers to automatically display animation and/or to perform database queries requested by the user |
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Artifacting |
Distortion that is introduced into audio or video by the compression algorithm. codec. Compressed images may have spray pixels that were not present in the original image. See codec |
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Audit |
Third-party validation of log activity and/or measurements process associated with Internet activity/advertising. Activity audits validate measurement counts. Process audits validate Internet controls associated with measurement. |
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Auditor |
A third-party independent organization that performs audits |
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Applicable browser |
Any browser and ad will impact, regardless of whether it will play the ad. |
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Aspect ratio |
The width to height ratio of the picture or video frame. TV broadcast at a 4:3 (1:33:1) aspect ratio ; digital TV broadcast with a 16:9 (1.78.1) ratio ; and most feature films are shot in at least a 1.85:1 ratio. IMUs have an aspect ratio of 6:5 (330×250; 336 x 280; and 180 x 150) |
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Avitar |
A graphical representation of an individual in a game or other virtual world or environment |
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Backbone |
High volume, Central, generally "long-haul" portion of the data network |
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Bandwidth |
The transmission rate of a communication line or system, expressed as kilobits per second (KBPS) or megabits per second (MBPS) for digital systems; the amount of data that can be transmitted over communication lines in a given time |
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Broadband Contention |
A bottleneck that occurs when two or more files are simultaneously transferred over a single data line. Unless the system is able to prioritize among the files, the effect is to slow delivery of each |
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Banner |
A graphic advertising image displayed on a webpage. See iab. net for voluntary guidelines defining specifications of banner ads. |
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Barter |
The exchange of goods and services without the use of cash. The value of the barter is the dollar value of the goods and services being exchanged for advertising. This is a recognize form of revenue under GAAP which is generally accepted accounting principles |
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Beta |
A test version of a product, such as a website or software, prior to final release |
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Buy Rate |
A measure of been with which indicates how fast data is traveling from one place to another on the computer network. Bit rate is usually expressed in kilobytes (Kbps)per second or megabytes per second )Mbps) |
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Behavioral targeting |
A technique used by online publishers and advertisers to increase the effectiveness of their campaigns. Behavioral targeting uses information collected on an individual's web browsing behavior such as the pages they have visited or the searches they have made to select which advertisements to be displayed to that individual. Practitioners believe this helps them deliver their online advertisements to the users who are most likely to be influenced by them. |
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Blog |
Generic name for any website featuring regular post arranged chronologically, typical inviting public comments from readers. Blog postings are generally short and informal, and blog software is generally free and very easy for an individual user, making it a popular tool for online diaries as well as more professional publications. |
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Bonus impressions |
Additional ad impressions above the commitments outlined in the approved insertion order |
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BOT |
Software that runs automatically without human intervention. Typically, a bot is endowed with the capability to react to different situations it may encounter. Two common types of bots are agents and spiders. Bots are used by companies like search engines to discover websites for indexing . short for robot |
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Brand awareness |
Research studies can associate ad effectiveness to measure the impact of online advertising on key branding metrics. |
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Broadband |
An Internet connection that delivers a relatively high bit rate-any bit rate at or above 256 kbps. Cable modems and DSL all offer broadband connections |
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Cache Busting |
The process by which sites or servers serve content or HTML in such a manner as to minimize or prevent browsers or proxies from serving content from their cache. This forces the user or proxy to fetch a fresh copy for each request. Among other reasons, cache busting is used to provide a more accurate count of the number of requests from users. |
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Cached ad impressions |
The delivery of an advertisement to a browser from the local cache or proxy servers cache. When a user request a page that contains a cached ad, the ad is obtained from the cash and displayed. |
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CARU The Children's advertising review unit. |
Division of the Council of Better Business Bureau's that reviews advertising and promotional material directed to children and all media. CaRU. org for more information. |
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CGI Script (Common Gateway Interface) |
CGI's are used to allow a user to pass data to a Web server, most commonly in a web-based form. Specifically, CGI scripts are used with forms such as a pulldown menu or a text entry areas with an accompanying submit button. The input from the form is processed by a program the (CGI script itself) on the remote Web server |
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Channel |
1) A band of similar content 2) A type of sales outlet ( also known as channel distribution), for example retail, catalogue, or e-commerce. |
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Chat |
Online interactive communication between two or more people on the web. One can talk in real time with other people in the chat room, typically by typing, the voice chat is available. |
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Chat Room |
An area online where people can communicate with others in real time. |
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Click Rate |
Ratio of ad clicks to add impressions. |
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Clicks |
1) metric which measures the reaction of a user to an Internet ad. There are three types of clicks: click through's; in unit clique; and mouse overs; 2) The opportunity for user to download another file by clicking on an advertisement, as recorded by the server; 3) The result of a measurable interaction with an appetizer or keyword that links to the appetizers intended website or another page or frame within the website 4) metric which measures the reaction of a user to linked editorial content. See IAB.net for ad campaign measurement guideline |
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Browser |
A software program that can request, download, cache and display documents available on the World Wide Web. |
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Click Fraud |
Click fraud is the type of Internet crime that occurs in pay per click online advertising when a person, automated script, or computer program imitates a legitimate user of the web browser clicking on an ad, for the purpose of generating a charge per click without having actual interest in the target of the ads link. |
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Click - stream |
1) The electronic pass a user takes while navigating from site to site, and from page to page within the site 2) A comprehensive body of data since describing the sequence of activity between a users browser and any other Internet resource, such as a website or third party ad server. |
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Click Through |
The action of following the link within an advertisement or editorial content to another website or another page or frame within the website. Add click through's should be tracked and reported as a 302 redirect at the ad server and should filter out robotic activity |
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Click within |
Similar to put down or click. But more commonly click within's are ads that allow the user to drill down and click, while remaining in the advertisement, not leaving the site on which they are residing |
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Client |
A computer for software program that contacts a server to obtain data via the Internet or another network. Internet explorer, Outlook, and other browsers and email programs are examples of software clients |
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Client initiated ad impression |
One of the two methods used for ad counting. Ad content is delivered to the user via 2 methods. server -initiated and client – initiated. Client – initiated ad counting relies on the users browser for making requests, formatting and re-directing content. For organizations using a client – initiated ad counting method, counting should occur at the publishers ad server or third-party ad server, subsequent to the ad request, or later, in the process see server initiated at impression. |
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Close |
Indicates that the user clicks or otherwise activates a close control which fully dispatches the ad from the player environment. May not apply to non--overly ads. |
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Codec |
Short for compressor/decompressor. Codecs our computer algorithms that are used to compress the size of audio, video, and image files for streaming over a data network or storage on a computer. Apples QuickTime, Microsoft Windows Media Video and MP3s are examples of common codecs. |
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Communication error |
The failure of a web browser/Web server to successfully request/ forward transfer a document |
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Content integration |
Advertising woven into editorial content or placed in the contextual envelope. Also known as web advertorial |
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Broadband video commercials |
TV-like advertisements that may appear as in page video commercials or before, during, and/or after a variety of content in a player environment including but not limited to, streaming video, animation, gaming, and music video content broadband video commercials may appear in live, archive, and downloadable streaming content. |
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Contextual ads |
Existing contextual ad engines deliver text and image ads to non-search content pages. Ads are matched to keywords extracted from content. Advertisers can leverage existing keyboard - based paid search campaigns and gain access to a larger audience. |
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Cookies |
A small piece of information for example program code that is stored on the browser for the purpose of identifying that browser during audience activity in between visits or sessions. |
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Cookie Buster |
Software that blocks the placement of cookies on the users browser |
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COPPR CHILDREN ONLINE PRIVACY PROTECTION Rule |
Issued by the FTC in October 1999 and effective on April 21, 2000 implements the requirements of the children's online protection privacy act by requiring operators of websites or online services director to children and operators of websites or online services who have actual knowledge the person from whom they seek information as a child to 1) post prominent links on the website to notice of how they collect use and/or disclose personal information from children 2) with certain exceptions, to notify parents that they wish to collect information from their children and obtain parental consent prior to collecting, using and/or disclosing such information 3)not to condition the child's participation in online activities on the provision of more personal information that is reasonably necessary to participate in the activity 4) to allow parents the opportunity to review and/or have their children's information deleted from the operators database and to prohibit further collection from the child 5) to establish procedures to protect the confidentiality, security, and integrity of personal information they collect from children. As directed by the children's online privacy protection act the rule also provides a safe harbor for operators following commission approved self regulatory guidelines. |
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Count Audit |
See activity on it |
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CPA. COST PER ACTION |
Cost of advertising based on a visitor taking some specifically defined action in response to an ad. Actions include such things as sales transactions, a customer acquisition, or a click |
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Cost Per Customer |
The cost an appetizer pays to acquire a customer |
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CPC COST per Click |
Cost of advertising based on the number of clicks received |
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CPL. Cost per lead |
Cost of advertising based on the number of database files (leads )received |
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CPM Cost per thousand |
Media term describing the cost of 1000 impressions. For example a website that charges $1500 per ad and reports 100,000 visits has a CPM a $15 this is $1500 divided by 100 |
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CPO cost per order |
Cost of advertising based on the number of orders received. Also cost per transaction |
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CPT COST PER TRANSACTION |
Cost per order |
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CPTM Cost per targeted thousand impressions |
Implying that the audience one is trying to reach is defined by particular demographics or other specific characteristics, such as male golfers age 18 -25. The difference between the CPM and the CPTM is that the CPM is for gross impressions well see CPTM is for target impressions |
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Crawler |
A software program which visits with pages to build indexes for search engines. See also spider, bot, and intelligent agent |
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Crowdsourcing |
Taking A task that would conventionally be performed by a contractor or an employee and turning it over to a typically large, undefined group of people via an open call for responses |
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CRM -Customer relationship management |
Business practices that foster customer care, loyalty, and/or customer support |
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CSS cascading style |
The stylesheet language used to describe the presentation of the document written in a markup language. Cascading style sheet provides a more elegant alternative to straight HTML to quickly specify the look and feel of a single webpage or a group of multiple webpages |
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Cyber Cafe |
A public venue for a bar or café which contains computers with the access to the Internet |
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Daughter Window |
And add that runs in a separate add window associated with the concurrently displayed banner. In normal practice, the content and Banner are rendered first and the daughter window appears thereafter |
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Demographics |
Common characteristics used for population were already at segmentation, such as age , gender, household income etc. |
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Digital Signatures |
Signatures for electronic documents. They establish identity and therefore can be used to establish a legal responsibility and the complete authenticity. Of whatever they are affixed to such as in effect, creating a tamperproof seal. |
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B to C / B2C business to consumer |
Businesses who is primarily customers are consumers |
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Buffering |
When a streaming media player temporarily stores portions of a streaming media (audio or video) on the client PC until there is enough information for the stream to begin playing |
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Button |
Clickable graphic that contain certain functionality, such as taking one someplace or executing a program. 2) buttons can also be ads see IAB.net for voluntary guidelines defining specifications a button ads. |
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Cable Modem |
I device that permits high-speed connectivity to the Internet over a cable television system |
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Cache |
Memory used to temporarily store the most frequently requested content/files/pages in order to speed it's delivery to the user. Caches can be local (i.e. on the browser) or on the network. In the case of local cache, most computers have both memory (ram) and disk (hard drive) cache. |
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Digital Video Server |
A robust dedicated computer at a central location that receives command request from the television viewers through a video on demand application. Once it received this request, it then instantly broadcast specific digital video streams to that viewer. |
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Display Advertising |
A form of online advertising where and advertiser's message is shown on the destination webpage, generally set off in a box at the top or bottom or to one side of the content of the page. |
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DHTML |
Dynamic hypertext markup language and extended set of HTML commands which are used by web designers to create much greater animation and interactivity than HTML |
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Domain Name |
The unique name that identifies an Internet site. Every domain name consists of one or more high level and one or more lower-level designators. Generic top level domain's include.com which is commercial.net which is network.EDU which is educational.org which is organizational public or noncommercial dot GOV governmental.mil military.B I Z business.info informational.name which is personal. pro professional .aero air transport and civil aviation. coop business cooperative such as credit unions and .museum geographic domains designate countries of origin such as dot US United States.fr France.UK United Kingdom |
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DPO |
District Point of Origin unique address from which a browser connects to a website on the Internet |
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Drill down |
When an online user access is more and more pages of the website in for example he or she goes deeper into the content of the site |
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DSL |
Digital subscriber line high-speed for the phone company's product |
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DVR |
Digital Video Recorder |
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Dynamic ad insertion |
The process by which an ad is inserted into a page in response to a user's request. Dynamic ad placement allows alteration a specific ads placed on the page based on any data available to the placement program. At its simplest, dynamic ad placement allows for multiple ads to be rotated through one or more spaces. In more sophisticated examples, the ad placement could be affected by demographic data or usage history for the current user. |
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Dynamic IP address |
An IP address. Assigned by an ISP to a client PC that changes periodically. |
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Dynamic rotation |
Delivery of ads on a rotating, random basis so that users are exposed to different ads and ads are served in different pages of the site. |
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e-commerce |
The process of selling products or services via the web. |
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E-mail advertising |
Banner ads, links or advertiser sponsorships that appear in email newsletters, email marketing campaign's and other commercial email communications. Includes all types of electronic mail such as basic text or HTML enabled |
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E-mail bounce |
And emailed it cannot be delivered to the mailbox provider and the sent back to the email service provider that sent it. I bounce is classified as either hard or soft. Hard bounces are the failed delivery of email due to a permanent reason, such as the nonexistent address. Soft ounces or failed delivery of any mildew to temporary issue such as a full inbox or in unavailable ISP server |
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E mail Campaign |
Advertising campaign just riveted via email |
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E-mail Inbox |
Within a mail box provider the default primary folder that stores delivered emails messages |
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Email Box Provider |
The email program, and by extension the server, that holds the targeted email address |
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Email Preview Pane |
A small window within a mailbox provider that allows the user to view some email content without opening the email |
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E-mail advertising |
Banner ads, links or advertiser sponsorships that appear in email newsletters, email marketing campaign's and other commercial email communications. Includes all types of electronic mail such as basic text or HTML enabled |
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Expandable banner |
A banner which can expand to as large is 468×240 after user clicks on it or after our user moves his or her cursor over the banner. |
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Extranet |
And Internet that is partially assessable to authorize outsiders via a valid username and password |
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Encoding |
The process of compressing and separating a file into packets so that it can be delivered over a network |
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Encoder |
A hardware or software application used to compress audio and video signals for the purpose of streaming. See Codec |
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Encryption |
Securing digital information so that it is unreadable without the use of digital keys |
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EPG electronic programming guide |
An application that allows the viewer to interactively select his or her television programming |
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Eyeballs |
Slang term for audience; the number of people who he was certain website or advertisement |
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FTP- file transport protocol |
File transfer protocol Internet protocol which facilitates downloading or uploading digital files |
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Firewall |
A security barrier controlling communication between a personal or corporate community computer network and the Internet. A firewall is based on rules which allow and disallow traffic to pass, based on the level of security and filtering a network administrator wishes to employ. |
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Family/Ad Family |
A collection of one or more add creative's. Also called ad campaign |
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Floating ads |
And ad or ads that appear within the main browser window on top of the webpage's normal content, therefore appearing to float over the top of the page |
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Flash |
Adobe's vector-based rich media file format which is used to display interactive animations on the webpage |
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Fold |
The line below which a user has to scroll to see content not immediately visible when a webpage loads in a browser. Ads or content displayed above the fold are visible without any in user interaction. Monitor size and resolution determine where on a webpage the fold lies. |
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FTTH fiber to the home |
Advanced, next-generation data networking infrastructure being deployed by some telcos and other companies to provide faster broadband Internet connectivity and other services |
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Failure to transfer |
Content requested by a browser can failed to transfer if the pages abandoned by the browser which requested it or if the server is unable to send the complete page including the ads known as an error or communication |
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Frames |
Multiple, independent sections used to create a single webpage. Each frame is billed as a separate HTML file but with one master file to control the replacement of each section. When a user request a page with frames, several files will be displayed as panes. Sites using Framed report one page request with several panes as multiple page requests. IAB ad campaign measurement guidelines call for the counting of one file per frame said as a page impression |
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FAQ |
Frequently asked questions. |
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Fiber Optic Cable |
Strands of glass used to transmit data -encoded is light -at extremely high data rates. Fiber optics is widely deployed in backbone data networks today and is beginning to be used for last mile broadband connections as well |
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Filtering |
The process of removing robotic activity an error codes for measurement records to make the remaining record representative of a ballad human Internet action |
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Filtration guidelines |
IAB voluntary guidelines for removing non-human activity in the reported measurements of that impressions. Page impressions, unique visitors and clicks. |
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Flame |
And inflammatory opinion or criticism distribute by email or posted on the newsgroup her message board |
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Frame Rate |
The number of frames of video display during a given time. The higher the frame rate, the more high-quality image will be |
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Frequency |
The number of times and add is delivered to the same browser in a single session or time period. A site can use cookies in order to manage at frequency |
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Geotargeting |
Display or preventing the display off content based on automated or Sue knowledge of an end users position in the real world. Relevant to both PC and mobile data services |
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GIF graphic interchange format |
A standard web graphic format which uses compression to store and display images |
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Gigabyte |
1 GB equals 1000 MB |
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GPRS general packet radio services |
Digital mobile radio technology permitting moderate data rates along with voice communication. Evolution from the GSM standard, referred to as 2.5 G see 3G |
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Hit |
When users access a website their computer sends a request to the site server to begin downloading a page. Each element of the requested page including graphics,text and interactive items is recorded by the sites Web server log file as a hit if a page containing two graphics is accessed by a user, those hits will be recorded once for the page itself and once for each of the graphics. Webmasters use hits to measure their servers workload. Because page designs and visit patterns very from site to site, the number of hits bears no relationship to the number of pages downloaded, and is therefore a poor guide for traffic measurement |
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Hotlists |
Pulldown or pop up menus often displayed on browsers or search engines that contain new or popular sites |
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Home page |
The page designated as the main point of entry of a website for a main page where the starting point when a browser first connects to the Internet. Typically, it welcomes visitors and introduces the purpose of the site, or the organization sponsoring it, and then provides links to other pages within the site |
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HTTP- hyper text transfer protocol |
The format most commonly used to transfer documents on the World Wide Web |
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House Ads |
Ads for a product or service from the same company. Revenues from house ads should not be included in reported revenues |
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Hyperlink |
A clickable link, for example on the webpage or within an email, but since the user to a new URL when activated |
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Hybrid pricing |
Pricing model which is based on a combination of CPM which is cost per thousand pricing model and a performance-based pricing model. see CPM pricing model and performance-based pricing |
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Host |
Any computer on a network that offer services or connectivity to other computers on the network. A host has an IP address associated with it |
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Gross exposures |
The total number of times and ad is served, including duplicate downloads to the same person. GSM global systems for mobile. |
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Hyperlink |
A clickable link, for example on the webpage or within an email, but since the user to a new URL when activated |
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Hypertext |
Any text that contains links connecting it with other texts or files on the Internet |
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IAB |
IAB is a nonprofit trade association devoted exclusively to maximizing the use and effectiveness of interactive advertising and marketing. |
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Guerrilla marketing |
Campaign tactic involving the placement of often humorous brand related messages and unexpected places either online or in the real world; intended to provoke word-of-mouth and Build buzz |
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IMU |
Interactive marketing unit the standard ad sizes endorsed by the interactive advertising bureau |
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GUI graphic user interface |
Away of enabling users to interact with the computer using visual icons And a mouse rather than a Command - line prompt /interpreter |
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HDTV - high definition television |
A higher quality signal resolution using a digital format for the transmission and reception of TV signals. HDTV provides about five times more picture information, this is picture elements or pixels, than conventional television, creating clarity, wider aspect ratio, and digital quality sound. |
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Head end |
For site in a cable system or broadband coaxial network with the programming originates in the distribution network starts. Signals are usually received off the air from satellites, microwave relays, or fiber optic cables at the head end for the distribution |
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History list |
A menu and a web browser which displays recently visited sites. The same mechanism makes it possible for servers to track where a browser was before visiting a particular site |
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Insertion |
Actual placement of an ad in a document, as recorded by the ad server |
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Insertion order |
Purchase order between a seller of interactive advertising and a buyer usually an advertiser or it's agency |
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Instant messaging |
A method of keeping communicating in real time, 1 to 1 or in groups over the Internet. Users assemble buddy list which reflect the availability or presence of people with whom they communicate |
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Intelligent agents |
Software tools which help the user find information of specific interest to them. The users profile is continually refined and improve based on the users acceptance or rejection of recommendations overtime |
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Interactive advertising |
All forms of online, wireless and interactive television advertising, including banners, sponsorships, email, keyword searches, referrals, slotting fees, classified ads and interactive television commercials |
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Internal page |
Website activity that is generated by individuals with IP address is known to be affiliated with the website owner. Internal activity that is associated with administration and maintenance of the site should be excluded from the traffic or measurement report. |
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Internet |
The worldwide system of computer networks providing reliable and redundant connectivity between dispirit computers and systems by using common transport and data protocols known as TCP/IP |
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Intranet |
Network based on TCP/IP protocols that belongs to an organization, using a corporation, and is assessable only by organizations members, employees or other's with authorization |
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Interstitial ads |
Ads that appear between two content pages. Also known as transition ads, intermetcial ads and splash pages. |
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In unit click |
A measurement of a user initiated action of responding to an ad element which generally causes an interest site director or content change. In unit clicks are usually tracked via a 302 redirect. Also known as click downs, click ups and click with Benz. See ad clicks; 302 direct |
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Inventory |
The number of ads available for sale on the website |
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IP Address |
Internet protocol numerical address assigned to each computer on the Internet so that its location and activities can be distinguished from those of other computers. The format is Pound pound dog pound pound dog pound town.Pam town with each member ranging from zero through 255 |
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Keyword |
Specific word or words entered into a search engine by the use of that results in a list of websites related to the keyword. Keywords can be purchased by advertisers in order to embed ads linking to the advertiser site with search results also can be associated with search engine marketing |
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IRC Internet relay chat |
Internet relay chat which is a facility that allows people to chat in real time. The chats, or forms are typed remarks as they can be either public or private. The protocol that allows users to converse with others in real time. I RC is structured as networks of servers each of which excepts connections from client programs |
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IP |
Internet protocol a protocol telling the network how packets are addressed and routed |
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ISP |
A business organization that provides Internet access and related services to consumers |
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Junk email folder |
The folder within an email client or an email service providers server that stores email messages that are in the divide, either by the user or buy an automated spam filter, is undesired or undesirable |
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Lag |
The delay between making an online request or command and receiving response |
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LAN local area network |
A group of computers connected together like a network at one physical location |
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ISDN integrated services digital network |
Faster than dilute connections to the Internet over copper phone wires. DSL has a large part replaced ISDN |
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Java |
A programming language design for building applications on the Internet. It allows for advanced features, increased animation detail in real-time updates. Small applications call Java applets can be downloaded from the server and executed by a job-compatible browsers like Microsoft Internet Explorer and Netscape Navigator. |
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Link |
A clickable connection between two websites. Formally referred to as hyperlink |
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Latency |
1)Time it takes for a DataPacket to move across the network connection 2) visible delay between request and display of content and add. Latency sometimes leads to the user leaving the site prior to the opportunity to see, and streaming media, latency can create stream degradation if it causes the packets, which must be received and played in order, to arrive out of the order. |
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Microblogging |
Publishers very brief, spontaneous post to a public website, usually via mobile device or wirelessly connected laptop |
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MMA- Mobile marketing association. |
Industry trade organization dedicated to facilitating the growth of advertising on |
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Micro sites |
Multipage ads accessed via click through from initial ad. The user stays on the publishers website, but has access to more information from the appetizer then just play at windows. |
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MMA- Mobile marketing association. |
Industry trade organization dedicated to facilitating the growth of advertising on |
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Midroll |
Form of online video ad placement where the ad is play during a break in the middle of the content video. |
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Link |
A clickable connection between two websites. Formally referred to as hyperlink |
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Listserver |
A program that automatically send email to a list of subscribers or Listserv |
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Login |
Did advocation or name used to access the computer, network website |
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M-commerce |
Mobile commerce, the ability to conduct monetary transactions via a mobile device, such as WAP-enabled cell phone |
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Modem |
I device which transfers digital signals to analog signals and vice versa suitable for sending phone or cable lines |
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Moore's Law |
A key observation regarding the growth in computer power experienced over the past several decades. Gordon Moore of Intel stated that the speed of the semi conductor processes doubles every 18 months so far this has remained true |
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Media company |
A company that derives revenue from publishing content via one or more means of distribution such as print publishing television radio snd the Internet |
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MIME -multiple purpose Internet mail extensions |
A method of encoding a file for delivery over the Internet |
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MRC -media rating counsel |
A nonprofit trade association dedicated to ensuring valid, reliable and effective syndicated audience research. The MR C performs audits of Internet measurements as well as traditional media measurements |
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Netiquette |
A term that is used to describe the internet rules of conduct the dues in the don'ts of online behavior |
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Non-registered user |
Someone who visit this website and elect not to, or is not required to, provide certain information, and hence may be denied access to parts of the site |
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Off-site measurement |
When is site forwards it's log files to an off-site web research service for analysis |
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MSO-multiple system operator |
A genetic industry acronym for a cable TV system operator more correctly any cable network operator was more than one cable TV system |
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Page request |
The opportunity for an HTML document to appear on the browser window as direct result of users and direction with the website |
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Page impression |
A measurement of responses from a Web server to a page request from the users browser, which is filtered from robotic activity and error codes, and is recorded at a point as close as possible to the opportunity to see the page by the user. |
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PDF portable document format |
The digital format developed by Adobe used primarily for distributing digital text files. Files with a PDF extension can be viewed and printed consistently by everyone, regardless of platform |
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Persistent cookie |
Cookies that remain a client hard drive until they expire as determined by the website that said them or are deleted by the end-user |
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Page view |
When the page is actually seen by the user. Note: this is not measurable today; the best approximation today is provided by page displays |
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Pre-roll |
Form of online video ad placement with the advertisement is played before the content video plays. |
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Privacy seal program |
A program that certifies the website owner complies with the sites proposed policy. Examples include TRUSTe and BBB online |
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Posting |
Entry on a message board, blog, or chronological online forum |
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Portal |
A website that often serves as a starting point for a web user session. It typically provide services such as search, directory of websites, news, weather, email homepage space, stock quotes, sports news, entertainment, telephone directory information, area maps, and chat or message boards |
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Post roll |
Form of online video ad placement where the advertisement is played after the content video place |
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Reach* |
1)unique users that visited the site over the course of the reporting period, expressed as a percent of the universe for the demographic category; also called unduplicated audience 2) The total number of unique users who will be served a given add |
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ROS -run of site |
The scheduling of Internet advertising where ads run across an entire site, often at a lower cost of the appetizer and the purchase of specific site subsections |
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RSS/RSS Readers |
Or really simple syndication ...is a process for publishing content on the Internet that facilitates moving that content into other environments. For example, top news stories on the newspaper site can be published as as a real simple syndication feed and pulled into and delivered via a web portal site. RSS readers are software programs are websites that enable users to subscribe to one or more RSS feeds, delivering content and information from multiple sources into a single user interface and environment |
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Roadblock |
Premium 100% share of voice rotation typically for one day or one week also known as "carpe diem" |
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ROI- return on investment |
Net profit divided by investment |
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Sampling frame |
The source from which the sample is drawn |
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SEM-search engine marketing |
A form of Internet marketing that seeks to promote websites by increasing their visibility in the search engine results pages |
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Rate card |
The list of advertising prices and products and packages offered by a media company. |
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Server push |
A process whereby a server maintains an open connection with the browser after the initial request for a page. Through this open connection the server continues to provide updated pages and content even though the visitor has made no further direct request for such information. |
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SGML- Standard generalized markup language |
The parent language of HTML |
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Set-top box |
An electronic device that connects to a TV providing connectivity to the Internet, game systems, or cable systems |
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SGML- Standard generalized markup language |
The parent language of HTML |
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Server push |
A process whereby a server maintains an open connection with the browser after the initial request for a page. Through this open connection the server continues to provide updated pages and content even though the visitor has made no further direct request for such information. |
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Session cookies* |
These are temporary and are erased when the browser exits at the end of the web surfing session |
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SGML- Standard generalized markup language |
The parent language of HTML |
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Site-centric measurement |
Audience measurement derived from a website own server logs |
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Site-centric measurement |
Audience measurement derived from a website own server logs |
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Server |
CA computer which distributes files which are shared across a LAN, WAN or the Internet. Also known as a host |
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Server push |
A process whereby a server maintains an open connection with the browser after the initial request for a page. Through this open connection the server continues to provide updated pages and content even though the visitor has made no further direct request for such information. |
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Set-top box |
An electronic device that connects to a TV providing connectivity to the Internet, game systems, or cable systems |
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Set-top box |
An electronic device that connects to a TV providing connectivity to the Internet, game systems, or cable systems |
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SGML- Standard generalized markup language |
The parent language of HTML |
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Sell Through rate |
The percentage of ad inventory sold as opposed to trade or barter. |
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Skins |
Customized and interchangeable set of graphics, which allow Internet users to continually change the look of their desktops or browsers, without changing their settings or functionality. Skins are a type of marketing tool |
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Skyscraper |
A tall, thin online ad unit. The IAB guidelines recommend two sizes of skyscrapers: 120 x 600 and 160×600 |
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Slotting fee |
A fee charge two appetizers by media companies to get premium positioning on their site, category exclusivity or some other special treatment. It is similar to slotting allowances charged by retailers |
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SMPT - simple mail transfer protocol |
The protocol used to transfer email |
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Server |
CA computer which distributes files which are shared across a LAN, WAN or the Internet. Also known as a host |
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Server pull |
A process whereby a users browser maintains an automated or customize connection or profile with a Web server. The browser usually sets up a unique request that is recorded and stored electronically for future reference. Examples are: request for automated delivery of email newsletters, the request for web content based on a specific search criteria determined by the user, or setting up a personalize webpage that customizes the information delivered to the user based on a predetermined self selections. |
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Server push |
A process whereby a server maintains an open connection with the browser after the initial request for a page. Through this open connection the server continues to provide updated pages and content even though the visitor has made no further direct request for such information. |
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Session |
1) A sequence of Internet activity made by one user at one site. If her user makes no request for my site during the 30 minute period of time, the next content or ad request with then const to the beginning of a new visit; 2) A series of transactions performed by her user that can be tracked across success of websites. For example in a single session, the user may start on the publishers website, click on an advertisement and then go to the advertisers website and make purchases. see visit |
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SGML- Standard generalized markup language |
The parent language of HTML |
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|
Sell Through rate |
The percentage of ad inventory sold as opposed to trade or barter. |
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Site-centric measurement |
Audience measurement derived from a website own server logs |
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Skyscraper |
A tall, thin online ad unit. The IAB guidelines recommend two sizes of skyscrapers: 120 x 600 and 160×600 |
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SMS Short message service |
Standard for sending and receiving short text messages via mobile handsets (160 character) |
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Sniffer |
Software that to text capabilities of the users browser (looking for such things as Java capabilities, plug-ins, screen resolution, and bandwidth) |
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Server |
CA computer which distributes files which are shared across a LAN, WAN or the Internet. Also known as a host |
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Server centric measurement |
Audience measurement derived from server logs |
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Server initiated at impression |
One of the two methods used for ad counting. Add content is delivered to the user via two methods- server initiated and client initiated. Server initiated add counting uses the publishers web content server for making requests. Formatting and redirecting content. For organizations using a server initiated ad counting method, counting should occur subsequent to the ad response at either the publisher's ad server or the web content server, or later in the process see client initiated at impression |
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Server pull |
A process whereby a users browser maintains an automated or customize connection or profile with a Web server. The browser usually sets up a unique request that is recorded and stored electronically for future reference. Examples are: request for automated delivery of email newsletters, the request for web content based on a specific search criteria determined by the user, or setting up a personalize webpage that customizes the information delivered to the user based on a predetermined self selections. |
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|
Server push |
A process whereby a server maintains an open connection with the browser after the initial request for a page. Through this open connection the server continues to provide updated pages and content even though the visitor has made no further direct request for such information. |
|
|
Set-top box |
An electronic device that connects to a TV providing connectivity to the Internet, game systems, or cable systems |
|
|
SGML- Standard generalized markup language |
The parent language of HTML |
|
|
Sell Through rate |
The percentage of ad inventory sold as opposed to trade or barter. |
|
|
Shockwave |
A browser plug-in developed by Macromedia now a part of Adobe which allows multimedia objects to appear on the web (animation, audio and video) |
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|
Site-centric measurement |
Audience measurement derived from a website own server logs |
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|
Skins |
Customized and interchangeable set of graphics, which allow Internet users to continually change the look of their desktops or browsers, without changing their settings or functionality. Skins are a type of marketing tool |
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SMPT - simple mail transfer protocol |
The protocol used to transfer email |
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SMS Short message service |
Standard for sending and receiving short text messages via mobile handsets (160 character) |
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Sniffer |
Software that to text capabilities of the users browser (looking for such things as Java capabilities, plug-ins, screen resolution, and bandwidth) |
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Server |
CA computer which distributes files which are shared across a LAN, WAN or the Internet. Also known as a host |
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Social bookmarking |
Aggregating, rating, describing, and publishing bookmarks-links to webpages or other online content |
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|
Server centric measurement |
Audience measurement derived from server logs |
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|
Server initiated at impression |
One of the two methods used for ad counting. Add content is delivered to the user via two methods- server initiated and client initiated. Server initiated add counting uses the publishers web content server for making requests. Formatting and redirecting content. For organizations using a server initiated ad counting method, counting should occur subsequent to the ad response at either the publisher's ad server or the web content server, or later in the process see client initiated at impression |
|
|
Server push |
A process whereby a server maintains an open connection with the browser after the initial request for a page. Through this open connection the server continues to provide updated pages and content even though the visitor has made no further direct request for such information. |
|
|
Session |
1) A sequence of Internet activity made by one user at one site. If her user makes no request for my site during the 30 minute period of time, the next content or ad request with then const to the beginning of a new visit; 2) A series of transactions performed by her user that can be tracked across success of websites. For example in a single session, the user may start on the publishers website, click on an advertisement and then go to the advertisers website and make purchases. see visit |
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|
Set-top box |
An electronic device that connects to a TV providing connectivity to the Internet, game systems, or cable systems |
|
|
Shockwave |
A browser plug-in developed by Macromedia now a part of Adobe which allows multimedia objects to appear on the web (animation, audio and video) |
|
|
Shopping bot |
Intelligent agent with searches for the best price |
|
|
SMPT - simple mail transfer protocol |
The protocol used to transfer email |
|
|
SMS Short message service |
Standard for sending and receiving short text messages via mobile handsets (160 character) |
|
|
Sniffer |
Software that to text capabilities of the users browser (looking for such things as Java capabilities, plug-ins, screen resolution, and bandwidth) |
|
|
Server |
CA computer which distributes files which are shared across a LAN, WAN or the Internet. Also known as a host |
|
|
Social bookmarking |
Aggregating, rating, describing, and publishing bookmarks-links to webpages or other online content |
|
|
Social marketing |
Marketing tactic that taps into the growth of social networks, encouraging users to adopt and pass along widgets or other content molecules created by brand, or to add a brand to the user social circle of friends |
|
|
Server pull |
A process whereby a users browser maintains an automated or customize connection or profile with a Web server. The browser usually sets up a unique request that is recorded and stored electronically for future reference. Examples are: request for automated delivery of email newsletters, the request for web content based on a specific search criteria determined by the user, or setting up a personalize webpage that customizes the information delivered to the user based on a predetermined self selections. |
|
|
Server push |
A process whereby a server maintains an open connection with the browser after the initial request for a page. Through this open connection the server continues to provide updated pages and content even though the visitor has made no further direct request for such information. |
|
|
SGML- Standard generalized markup language |
The parent language of HTML |
|
|
Sell Through rate |
The percentage of ad inventory sold as opposed to trade or barter. |
|
|
Shockwave |
A browser plug-in developed by Macromedia now a part of Adobe which allows multimedia objects to appear on the web (animation, audio and video) |
|
|
Site-centric measurement |
Audience measurement derived from a website own server logs |
|
|
Skins |
Customized and interchangeable set of graphics, which allow Internet users to continually change the look of their desktops or browsers, without changing their settings or functionality. Skins are a type of marketing tool |
|
|
Skyscraper |
A tall, thin online ad unit. The IAB guidelines recommend two sizes of skyscrapers: 120 x 600 and 160×600 |
|
|
SMPT - simple mail transfer protocol |
The protocol used to transfer email |
|
|
SMS Short message service |
Standard for sending and receiving short text messages via mobile handsets (160 character) |
|
|
Sniffer |
Software that to text capabilities of the users browser (looking for such things as Java capabilities, plug-ins, screen resolution, and bandwidth) |
|
|
Server |
CA computer which distributes files which are shared across a LAN, WAN or the Internet. Also known as a host |
|
|
Social bookmarking |
Aggregating, rating, describing, and publishing bookmarks-links to webpages or other online content |
|
|
Social network |
And online destination that gives users a chance to connect with one or more groups of friends, facilitating sharing the content, news, and information among them. Examples of social networks include Facebook and LinkedIn |
|
|
Server pull |
A process whereby a users browser maintains an automated or customize connection or profile with a Web server. The browser usually sets up a unique request that is recorded and stored electronically for future reference. Examples are: request for automated delivery of email newsletters, the request for web content based on a specific search criteria determined by the user, or setting up a personalize webpage that customizes the information delivered to the user based on a predetermined self selections. |
|
|
Server push |
A process whereby a server maintains an open connection with the browser after the initial request for a page. Through this open connection the server continues to provide updated pages and content even though the visitor has made no further direct request for such information. |
|
|
Set-top box |
An electronic device that connects to a TV providing connectivity to the Internet, game systems, or cable systems |
|
|
Sell Through rate |
The percentage of ad inventory sold as opposed to trade or barter. |
|
|
SMPT - simple mail transfer protocol |
The protocol used to transfer email |
|
|
Server |
CA computer which distributes files which are shared across a LAN, WAN or the Internet. Also known as a host |
|
|
Server pull |
A process whereby a users browser maintains an automated or customize connection or profile with a Web server. The browser usually sets up a unique request that is recorded and stored electronically for future reference. Examples are: request for automated delivery of email newsletters, the request for web content based on a specific search criteria determined by the user, or setting up a personalize webpage that customizes the information delivered to the user based on a predetermined self selections. |
|
|
Server push |
A process whereby a server maintains an open connection with the browser after the initial request for a page. Through this open connection the server continues to provide updated pages and content even though the visitor has made no further direct request for such information. |
|
|
SGML- Standard generalized markup language |
The parent language of HTML |
|
|
SMPT - simple mail transfer protocol |
The protocol used to transfer email |
|
|
SMS Short message service |
Standard for sending and receiving short text messages via mobile handsets (160 character) |
|
|
Sniffer |
Software that to text capabilities of the users browser (looking for such things as Java capabilities, plug-ins, screen resolution, and bandwidth) |
|
|
Server |
CA computer which distributes files which are shared across a LAN, WAN or the Internet. Also known as a host |
|
|
Social marketing |
Marketing tactic that taps into the growth of social networks, encouraging users to adopt and pass along widgets or other content molecules created by brand, or to add a brand to the user social circle of friends |
|
|
Social network |
And online destination that gives users a chance to connect with one or more groups of friends, facilitating sharing the content, news, and information among them. Examples of social networks include Facebook and LinkedIn |
|
|
Server centric measurement |
Audience measurement derived from server logs |
|
|
Server push |
A process whereby a server maintains an open connection with the browser after the initial request for a page. Through this open connection the server continues to provide updated pages and content even though the visitor has made no further direct request for such information. |
|
|
Sell Through rate |
The percentage of ad inventory sold as opposed to trade or barter. |
|
|
Shopping bot |
Intelligent agent with searches for the best price |
|
|
Skyscraper |
A tall, thin online ad unit. The IAB guidelines recommend two sizes of skyscrapers: 120 x 600 and 160×600 |
|
|
Slotting fee |
A fee charge two appetizers by media companies to get premium positioning on their site, category exclusivity or some other special treatment. It is similar to slotting allowances charged by retailers |
|
|
SMPT - simple mail transfer protocol |
The protocol used to transfer email |
|
|
SMS Short message service |
Standard for sending and receiving short text messages via mobile handsets (160 character) |
|
|
Sniffer |
Software that to text capabilities of the users browser (looking for such things as Java capabilities, plug-ins, screen resolution, and bandwidth) |
|
|
Server |
CA computer which distributes files which are shared across a LAN, WAN or the Internet. Also known as a host |
|
|
Social bookmarking |
Aggregating, rating, describing, and publishing bookmarks-links to webpages or other online content |
|
|
Social marketing |
Marketing tactic that taps into the growth of social networks, encouraging users to adopt and pass along widgets or other content molecules created by brand, or to add a brand to the user social circle of friends |
|
|
Social network |
And online destination that gives users a chance to connect with one or more groups of friends, facilitating sharing the content, news, and information among them. Examples of social networks include Facebook and LinkedIn |
|
|
Space |
Location on the page of the site in which an ad can be placed. Each space on a site is uniquely identified. There can be multiple spaces on a single page |
|
|
Server centric measurement |
Audience measurement derived from server logs |
|
|
Server initiated at impression |
One of the two methods used for ad counting. Add content is delivered to the user via two methods- server initiated and client initiated. Server initiated add counting uses the publishers web content server for making requests. Formatting and redirecting content. For organizations using a server initiated ad counting method, counting should occur subsequent to the ad response at either the publisher's ad server or the web content server, or later in the process see client initiated at impression |
|
|
Server push |
A process whereby a server maintains an open connection with the browser after the initial request for a page. Through this open connection the server continues to provide updated pages and content even though the visitor has made no further direct request for such information. |
|
|
Set-top box |
An electronic device that connects to a TV providing connectivity to the Internet, game systems, or cable systems |
|
|
Sell Through rate |
The percentage of ad inventory sold as opposed to trade or barter. |
|
|
Shopping bot |
Intelligent agent with searches for the best price |
|
|
SMPT - simple mail transfer protocol |
The protocol used to transfer email |
|
|
SMS Short message service |
Standard for sending and receiving short text messages via mobile handsets (160 character) |
|
|
Sniffer |
Software that to text capabilities of the users browser (looking for such things as Java capabilities, plug-ins, screen resolution, and bandwidth) |
|
|
Server |
CA computer which distributes files which are shared across a LAN, WAN or the Internet. Also known as a host |
|
|
Social bookmarking |
Aggregating, rating, describing, and publishing bookmarks-links to webpages or other online content |
|
|
Social marketing |
Marketing tactic that taps into the growth of social networks, encouraging users to adopt and pass along widgets or other content molecules created by brand, or to add a brand to the user social circle of friends |
|
|
Social network |
And online destination that gives users a chance to connect with one or more groups of friends, facilitating sharing the content, news, and information among them. Examples of social networks include Facebook and LinkedIn |
|
|
Spam |
Term describing unsolicited commercial email |
|
|
Spam filter |
Software built into email gateways as well as email client applications designed to identify and remove unsolicited commercial messages from incoming email before the end user sees them |
|
|
Server centric measurement |
Audience measurement derived from server logs |
|
|
Server push |
A process whereby a server maintains an open connection with the browser after the initial request for a page. Through this open connection the server continues to provide updated pages and content even though the visitor has made no further direct request for such information. |
|
|
Set-top box |
An electronic device that connects to a TV providing connectivity to the Internet, game systems, or cable systems |
|
|
Sell Through rate |
The percentage of ad inventory sold as opposed to trade or barter. |
|
|
Shockwave |
A browser plug-in developed by Macromedia now a part of Adobe which allows multimedia objects to appear on the web (animation, audio and video) |
|
|
Skyscraper |
A tall, thin online ad unit. The IAB guidelines recommend two sizes of skyscrapers: 120 x 600 and 160×600 |
|
|
Slotting fee |
A fee charge two appetizers by media companies to get premium positioning on their site, category exclusivity or some other special treatment. It is similar to slotting allowances charged by retailers |
|
|
SMPT - simple mail transfer protocol |
The protocol used to transfer email |
|
|
SMS Short message service |
Standard for sending and receiving short text messages via mobile handsets (160 character) |
|
|
Sniffer |
Software that to text capabilities of the users browser (looking for such things as Java capabilities, plug-ins, screen resolution, and bandwidth) |
|
|
Server |
CA computer which distributes files which are shared across a LAN, WAN or the Internet. Also known as a host |
|
|
Social bookmarking |
Aggregating, rating, describing, and publishing bookmarks-links to webpages or other online content |
|
|
Social marketing |
Marketing tactic that taps into the growth of social networks, encouraging users to adopt and pass along widgets or other content molecules created by brand, or to add a brand to the user social circle of friends |
|
|
Social network |
And online destination that gives users a chance to connect with one or more groups of friends, facilitating sharing the content, news, and information among them. Examples of social networks include Facebook and LinkedIn |
|
|
Space |
Location on the page of the site in which an ad can be placed. Each space on a site is uniquely identified. There can be multiple spaces on a single page |
|
|
Spam filter |
Software built into email gateways as well as email client applications designed to identify and remove unsolicited commercial messages from incoming email before the end user sees them |
|
|
Spider |
A program that automatically fetches webpages. Spiders are used to feed pages to search engines. It is called a spider because it crawls over the webpage. Because most webpages contain links to other pages, a spider can start almost anywhere. As soon as it links to another page, it goes off and fetches it. Large search engines have many spiders working in parallel. See robot |
|
|
Server initiated at impression |
One of the two methods used for ad counting. Add content is delivered to the user via two methods- server initiated and client initiated. Server initiated add counting uses the publishers web content server for making requests. Formatting and redirecting content. For organizations using a server initiated ad counting method, counting should occur subsequent to the ad response at either the publisher's ad server or the web content server, or later in the process see client initiated at impression |
|
|
Server push |
A process whereby a server maintains an open connection with the browser after the initial request for a page. Through this open connection the server continues to provide updated pages and content even though the visitor has made no further direct request for such information. |
|
|
Session |
1) A sequence of Internet activity made by one user at one site. If her user makes no request for my site during the 30 minute period of time, the next content or ad request with then const to the beginning of a new visit; 2) A series of transactions performed by her user that can be tracked across success of websites. For example in a single session, the user may start on the publishers website, click on an advertisement and then go to the advertisers website and make purchases. see visit |
|
|
SGML- Standard generalized markup language |
The parent language of HTML |
|
|
Shockwave |
A browser plug-in developed by Macromedia now a part of Adobe which allows multimedia objects to appear on the web (animation, audio and video) |
|
|
Site-centric measurement |
Audience measurement derived from a website own server logs |
|
|
Slotting fee |
A fee charge two appetizers by media companies to get premium positioning on their site, category exclusivity or some other special treatment. It is similar to slotting allowances charged by retailers |
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|
SMPT - simple mail transfer protocol |
The protocol used to transfer email |
|
|
SMS Short message service |
Standard for sending and receiving short text messages via mobile handsets (160 character) |
|
|
Sniffer |
Software that to text capabilities of the users browser (looking for such things as Java capabilities, plug-ins, screen resolution, and bandwidth) |
|
|
Server |
CA computer which distributes files which are shared across a LAN, WAN or the Internet. Also known as a host |
|
|
Social bookmarking |
Aggregating, rating, describing, and publishing bookmarks-links to webpages or other online content |
|
|
Social marketing |
Marketing tactic that taps into the growth of social networks, encouraging users to adopt and pass along widgets or other content molecules created by brand, or to add a brand to the user social circle of friends |
|
|
Social network |
And online destination that gives users a chance to connect with one or more groups of friends, facilitating sharing the content, news, and information among them. Examples of social networks include Facebook and LinkedIn |
|
|
Space |
Location on the page of the site in which an ad can be placed. Each space on a site is uniquely identified. There can be multiple spaces on a single page |
|
|
Spider |
A program that automatically fetches webpages. Spiders are used to feed pages to search engines. It is called a spider because it crawls over the webpage. Because most webpages contain links to other pages, a spider can start almost anywhere. As soon as it links to another page, it goes off and fetches it. Large search engines have many spiders working in parallel. See robot |
|
|
Server centric measurement |
Audience measurement derived from server logs |
|
|
Server push |
A process whereby a server maintains an open connection with the browser after the initial request for a page. Through this open connection the server continues to provide updated pages and content even though the visitor has made no further direct request for such information. |
|
|
Set-top box |
An electronic device that connects to a TV providing connectivity to the Internet, game systems, or cable systems |
|
|
SGML- Standard generalized markup language |
The parent language of HTML |
|
|
Shockwave |
A browser plug-in developed by Macromedia now a part of Adobe which allows multimedia objects to appear on the web (animation, audio and video) |
|
|
Shopping bot |
Intelligent agent with searches for the best price |
|
|
Skyscraper |
A tall, thin online ad unit. The IAB guidelines recommend two sizes of skyscrapers: 120 x 600 and 160×600 |
|
|
SMPT - simple mail transfer protocol |
The protocol used to transfer email |
|
|
Sniffer |
Software that to text capabilities of the users browser (looking for such things as Java capabilities, plug-ins, screen resolution, and bandwidth) |
|
|
Server |
CA computer which distributes files which are shared across a LAN, WAN or the Internet. Also known as a host |
|
|
Social bookmarking |
Aggregating, rating, describing, and publishing bookmarks-links to webpages or other online content |
|
|
Social network |
And online destination that gives users a chance to connect with one or more groups of friends, facilitating sharing the content, news, and information among them. Examples of social networks include Facebook and LinkedIn |
|
|
Space |
Location on the page of the site in which an ad can be placed. Each space on a site is uniquely identified. There can be multiple spaces on a single page |
|
|
Spam |
Term describing unsolicited commercial email |
|
|
Spider |
A program that automatically fetches webpages. Spiders are used to feed pages to search engines. It is called a spider because it crawls over the webpage. Because most webpages contain links to other pages, a spider can start almost anywhere. As soon as it links to another page, it goes off and fetches it. Large search engines have many spiders working in parallel. See robot |
|
|
Sponsor |
1) A sponsor is an advertiser who has sponsored an ad and, by doing so, has also helped sponsor or sustain the website itself 2) an advertiser that has a special relationship with the website and supports a specific feature of the website, such as a writer's column or a collection of articles on a particular subject |
|
|
Server centric measurement |
Audience measurement derived from server logs |
|
|
Server initiated at impression |
One of the two methods used for ad counting. Add content is delivered to the user via two methods- server initiated and client initiated. Server initiated add counting uses the publishers web content server for making requests. Formatting and redirecting content. For organizations using a server initiated ad counting method, counting should occur subsequent to the ad response at either the publisher's ad server or the web content server, or later in the process see client initiated at impression |
|
|
Set-top box |
An electronic device that connects to a TV providing connectivity to the Internet, game systems, or cable systems |
|
|
Sell Through rate |
The percentage of ad inventory sold as opposed to trade or barter. |
|
|
Shockwave |
A browser plug-in developed by Macromedia now a part of Adobe which allows multimedia objects to appear on the web (animation, audio and video) |
|
|
Skins |
Customized and interchangeable set of graphics, which allow Internet users to continually change the look of their desktops or browsers, without changing their settings or functionality. Skins are a type of marketing tool |
|
|
Skyscraper |
A tall, thin online ad unit. The IAB guidelines recommend two sizes of skyscrapers: 120 x 600 and 160×600 |
|
|
SMPT - simple mail transfer protocol |
The protocol used to transfer email |
|
|
Sniffer |
Software that to text capabilities of the users browser (looking for such things as Java capabilities, plug-ins, screen resolution, and bandwidth) |
|
|
Server |
CA computer which distributes files which are shared across a LAN, WAN or the Internet. Also known as a host |
|
|
Social network |
And online destination that gives users a chance to connect with one or more groups of friends, facilitating sharing the content, news, and information among them. Examples of social networks include Facebook and LinkedIn |
|
|
Spam filter |
Software built into email gateways as well as email client applications designed to identify and remove unsolicited commercial messages from incoming email before the end user sees them |
|
|
Splash page |
A preliminary page that precedes the user requested page of the website that usually promote a particular site feature or provides advertising. A splash page is time to move on to the requested page after a short period of time or a click. Also known as an interstitial. Splash pages are not considered qualified page impressions under current industry standards, but they are considered qualified ad impressions |
|
|
Sponsor |
1) A sponsor is an advertiser who has sponsored an ad and, by doing so, has also helped sponsor or sustain the website itself 2) an advertiser that has a special relationship with the website and supports a specific feature of the website, such as a writer's column or a collection of articles on a particular subject |
|
|
Stickiness |
A measure used to gauge the effectiveness of the site in retaining individual users. Sticking this is usually measured by the direction of the visit |
|
|
Server initiated at impression |
One of the two methods used for ad counting. Add content is delivered to the user via two methods- server initiated and client initiated. Server initiated add counting uses the publishers web content server for making requests. Formatting and redirecting content. For organizations using a server initiated ad counting method, counting should occur subsequent to the ad response at either the publisher's ad server or the web content server, or later in the process see client initiated at impression |
|
|
Server pull |
A process whereby a users browser maintains an automated or customize connection or profile with a Web server. The browser usually sets up a unique request that is recorded and stored electronically for future reference. Examples are: request for automated delivery of email newsletters, the request for web content based on a specific search criteria determined by the user, or setting up a personalize webpage that customizes the information delivered to the user based on a predetermined self selections. |
|
|
Session |
1) A sequence of Internet activity made by one user at one site. If her user makes no request for my site during the 30 minute period of time, the next content or ad request with then const to the beginning of a new visit; 2) A series of transactions performed by her user that can be tracked across success of websites. For example in a single session, the user may start on the publishers website, click on an advertisement and then go to the advertisers website and make purchases. see visit |
|
|
Sell Through rate |
The percentage of ad inventory sold as opposed to trade or barter. |
|
|
Slotting fee |
A fee charge two appetizers by media companies to get premium positioning on their site, category exclusivity or some other special treatment. It is similar to slotting allowances charged by retailers |
|
|
SMPT - simple mail transfer protocol |
The protocol used to transfer email |
|
|
Server |
CA computer which distributes files which are shared across a LAN, WAN or the Internet. Also known as a host |
|
|
Social bookmarking |
Aggregating, rating, describing, and publishing bookmarks-links to webpages or other online content |
|
|
Social network |
And online destination that gives users a chance to connect with one or more groups of friends, facilitating sharing the content, news, and information among them. Examples of social networks include Facebook and LinkedIn |
|
|
Space |
Location on the page of the site in which an ad can be placed. Each space on a site is uniquely identified. There can be multiple spaces on a single page |
|
|
Spam |
Term describing unsolicited commercial email |
|
|
Spam filter |
Software built into email gateways as well as email client applications designed to identify and remove unsolicited commercial messages from incoming email before the end user sees them |
|
|
Splash page |
A preliminary page that precedes the user requested page of the website that usually promote a particular site feature or provides advertising. A splash page is time to move on to the requested page after a short period of time or a click. Also known as an interstitial. Splash pages are not considered qualified page impressions under current industry standards, but they are considered qualified ad impressions |
|
|
Sponsor |
1) A sponsor is an advertiser who has sponsored an ad and, by doing so, has also helped sponsor or sustain the website itself 2) an advertiser that has a special relationship with the website and supports a specific feature of the website, such as a writer's column or a collection of articles on a particular subject |
|
|
Server centric measurement |
Audience measurement derived from server logs |
|
|
Streaming |
1) Technology that permits continuous audio and video delivered to a computer from the remote website 2) and Internet data transfer technique that allows the user to see and hear audio and video files. The host or source compress them "streams" small packets of information over the Internet to the user, who can access the content as it is received |
|
|
Server pull |
A process whereby a users browser maintains an automated or customize connection or profile with a Web server. The browser usually sets up a unique request that is recorded and stored electronically for future reference. Examples are: request for automated delivery of email newsletters, the request for web content based on a specific search criteria determined by the user, or setting up a personalize webpage that customizes the information delivered to the user based on a predetermined self selections. |
|
|
Server push |
A process whereby a server maintains an open connection with the browser after the initial request for a page. Through this open connection the server continues to provide updated pages and content even though the visitor has made no further direct request for such information. |
|
|
Set-top box |
An electronic device that connects to a TV providing connectivity to the Internet, game systems, or cable systems |
|
|
Sell Through rate |
The percentage of ad inventory sold as opposed to trade or barter. |
|
|
Shopping bot |
Intelligent agent with searches for the best price |
|
|
Site-centric measurement |
Audience measurement derived from a website own server logs |
|
|
SMPT - simple mail transfer protocol |
The protocol used to transfer email |
|
|
Sniffer |
Software that to text capabilities of the users browser (looking for such things as Java capabilities, plug-ins, screen resolution, and bandwidth) |
|
|
Server |
CA computer which distributes files which are shared across a LAN, WAN or the Internet. Also known as a host |
|
|
Social network |
And online destination that gives users a chance to connect with one or more groups of friends, facilitating sharing the content, news, and information among them. Examples of social networks include Facebook and LinkedIn |
|
|
Splash page |
A preliminary page that precedes the user requested page of the website that usually promote a particular site feature or provides advertising. A splash page is time to move on to the requested page after a short period of time or a click. Also known as an interstitial. Splash pages are not considered qualified page impressions under current industry standards, but they are considered qualified ad impressions |
|
|
Server centric measurement |
Audience measurement derived from server logs |
|
|
Stickiness |
A measure used to gauge the effectiveness of the site in retaining individual users. Sticking this is usually measured by the direction of the visit |
|
|
Session |
1) A sequence of Internet activity made by one user at one site. If her user makes no request for my site during the 30 minute period of time, the next content or ad request with then const to the beginning of a new visit; 2) A series of transactions performed by her user that can be tracked across success of websites. For example in a single session, the user may start on the publishers website, click on an advertisement and then go to the advertisers website and make purchases. see visit |
|
|
Session cookies |
These are temporary and are erased when the browser exits at the end of the web surfing session |
|
|
Set-top box |
An electronic device that connects to a TV providing connectivity to the Internet, game systems, or cable systems |
|
|
Sell Through rate |
The percentage of ad inventory sold as opposed to trade or barter. |
|
|
Shockwave |
A browser plug-in developed by Macromedia now a part of Adobe which allows multimedia objects to appear on the web (animation, audio and video) |
|
|
Skyscraper |
A tall, thin online ad unit. The IAB guidelines recommend two sizes of skyscrapers: 120 x 600 and 160×600 |
|
|
SMPT - simple mail transfer protocol |
The protocol used to transfer email |
|
|
SMS Short message service |
Standard for sending and receiving short text messages via mobile handsets (160 character) |
|
|
Sniffer |
Software that to text capabilities of the users browser (looking for such things as Java capabilities, plug-ins, screen resolution, and bandwidth) |
|
|
Server |
CA computer which distributes files which are shared across a LAN, WAN or the Internet. Also known as a host |
|
|
Social bookmarking |
Aggregating, rating, describing, and publishing bookmarks-links to webpages or other online content |
|
|
Social marketing |
Marketing tactic that taps into the growth of social networks, encouraging users to adopt and pass along widgets or other content molecules created by brand, or to add a brand to the user social circle of friends |
|
|
Social network |
And online destination that gives users a chance to connect with one or more groups of friends, facilitating sharing the content, news, and information among them. Examples of social networks include Facebook and LinkedIn |
|
|
Space |
Location on the page of the site in which an ad can be placed. Each space on a site is uniquely identified. There can be multiple spaces on a single page |
|
|
Spider |
A program that automatically fetches webpages. Spiders are used to feed pages to search engines. It is called a spider because it crawls over the webpage. Because most webpages contain links to other pages, a spider can start almost anywhere. As soon as it links to another page, it goes off and fetches it. Large search engines have many spiders working in parallel. See robot |
|
|
Sponsor |
1) A sponsor is an advertiser who has sponsored an ad and, by doing so, has also helped sponsor or sustain the website itself 2) an advertiser that has a special relationship with the website and supports a specific feature of the website, such as a writer's column or a collection of articles on a particular subject |
|
|
Sponsorship |
Sponsorship represents custom content and/or experiences created for an advertiser which may or may not include add unities( Display advertising, brand logos, advertorial and prerolled video). Sponsorships fall into several categories: Spotlights are custom pages incorporating and advertisers brand and housing a collection of content usually around a theme Advergaming can range from an advertiser buying all the ad units around the game or a "sponsored by " link to creating a custom branded game experience Content and section sponsorship is when an appetizer exclusively sponsors a particular section of the site or email(usually existing content) rescanned with the advertisers branding |
|
|
Server centric measurement |
Audience measurement derived from server logs |
|
|
Superstitials |
An interstitial format developed by unicast which is fully pre-cashed before playing. Specs are 550x 480 Pixels(2/3 of screen) up to 100 K file size and up to 20 seconds in length |
|
|
Server pull |
A process whereby a users browser maintains an automated or customize connection or profile with a Web server. The browser usually sets up a unique request that is recorded and stored electronically for future reference. Examples are: request for automated delivery of email newsletters, the request for web content based on a specific search criteria determined by the user, or setting up a personalize webpage that customizes the information delivered to the user based on a predetermined self selections. |
|
|
Server push |
A process whereby a server maintains an open connection with the browser after the initial request for a page. Through this open connection the server continues to provide updated pages and content even though the visitor has made no further direct request for such information. |
|
|
Session |
1) A sequence of Internet activity made by one user at one site. If her user makes no request for my site during the 30 minute period of time, the next content or ad request with then const to the beginning of a new visit; 2) A series of transactions performed by her user that can be tracked across success of websites. For example in a single session, the user may start on the publishers website, click on an advertisement and then go to the advertisers website and make purchases. see visit |
|
|
Session cookies |
These are temporary and are erased when the browser exits at the end of the web surfing session |
|
|
SGML- Standard generalized markup language |
The parent language of HTML |
|
|
Sell Through rate |
The percentage of ad inventory sold as opposed to trade or barter. |
|
|
Shockwave |
A browser plug-in developed by Macromedia now a part of Adobe which allows multimedia objects to appear on the web (animation, audio and video) |
|
|
Site-centric measurement |
Audience measurement derived from a website own server logs |
|
|
Skins |
Customized and interchangeable set of graphics, which allow Internet users to continually change the look of their desktops or browsers, without changing their settings or functionality. Skins are a type of marketing tool |
|
|
Skyscraper |
A tall, thin online ad unit. The IAB guidelines recommend two sizes of skyscrapers: 120 x 600 and 160×600 |
|
|
SMPT - simple mail transfer protocol |
The protocol used to transfer email |
|
|
SMS Short message service |
Standard for sending and receiving short text messages via mobile handsets (160 character) |
|
|
Sniffer |
Software that to text capabilities of the users browser (looking for such things as Java capabilities, plug-ins, screen resolution, and bandwidth) |
|
|
Server |
CA computer which distributes files which are shared across a LAN, WAN or the Internet. Also known as a host |
|
|
Social bookmarking |
Aggregating, rating, describing, and publishing bookmarks-links to webpages or other online content |
|
|
Social marketing |
Marketing tactic that taps into the growth of social networks, encouraging users to adopt and pass along widgets or other content molecules created by brand, or to add a brand to the user social circle of friends |
|
|
Social network |
And online destination that gives users a chance to connect with one or more groups of friends, facilitating sharing the content, news, and information among them. Examples of social networks include Facebook and LinkedIn |
|
|
Space |
Location on the page of the site in which an ad can be placed. Each space on a site is uniquely identified. There can be multiple spaces on a single page |
|
|
Spam filter |
Software built into email gateways as well as email client applications designed to identify and remove unsolicited commercial messages from incoming email before the end user sees them |
|
|
Spider |
A program that automatically fetches webpages. Spiders are used to feed pages to search engines. It is called a spider because it crawls over the webpage. Because most webpages contain links to other pages, a spider can start almost anywhere. As soon as it links to another page, it goes off and fetches it. Large search engines have many spiders working in parallel. See robot |
|
|
Sponsor |
1) A sponsor is an advertiser who has sponsored an ad and, by doing so, has also helped sponsor or sustain the website itself 2) an advertiser that has a special relationship with the website and supports a specific feature of the website, such as a writer's column or a collection of articles on a particular subject |
|
|
Sponsorship |
Sponsorship represents custom content and/or experiences created for an advertiser which may or may not include add unities( Display advertising, brand logos, advertorial and prerolled video). Sponsorships fall into several categories: Spotlights are custom pages incorporating and advertisers brand and housing a collection of content usually around a theme Advergaming can range from an advertiser buying all the ad units around the game or a "sponsored by " link to creating a custom branded game experience Content and section sponsorship is when an appetizer exclusively sponsors a particular section of the site or email(usually existing content) rescanned with the advertisers branding |
|
|
Streaming |
1) Technology that permits continuous audio and video delivered to a computer from the remote website 2) and Internet data transfer technique that allows the user to see and hear audio and video files. The host or source compress them "streams" small packets of information over the Internet to the user, who can access the content as it is received |
|
|
Streaming media player |
A software program which can decompresses audio and/or video files so the user can hear and/or see the video or audio file. Some examples are real player, Windows media player and QuickTime player |
|
|
Surfing |
Exploring the world wide web |
|
|
Sponsorship |
Sponsorship represents custom content and/or experiences created for an advertiser which may or may not include add unities( Display advertising, brand logos, advertorial and prerolled video). Sponsorships fall into several categories: Spotlights are custom pages incorporating and advertisers brand and housing a collection of content usually around a theme Advergaming can range from an advertiser buying all the ad units around the game or a "sponsored by " link to creating a custom branded game experience Content and section sponsorship is when an appetizer exclusively sponsors a particular section of the site or email(usually existing content) rescanned with the advertisers branding Sweepstakes and contests can range from branded sweepstakes on the site to full-fledged branded contest with submissions and judging Static ad placement/static rotation 1) adds that remain on the webpage for a specified period of time 2)embedded ads |
|
|
SGML- Standard generalized markup language |
The parent language of HTML |
|
|
TCP/IP transfer control protocol/Internet protocol |
The software protocols that run the Internet determining how packets of data travel from origin to destination |
|